!Please Note!

You are using an outdated browser that may impact your experience on FCA.org.
Please upgrade to the latest version of Internet Explorer here or download another browser like Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.
Once you upgrade, this notice will no longer appear.

2015 Peter Kohn Award Recipient Announced

Published on March 30, 2015

by FCA

IMG_0275The Fellowship of Christian Athletes Lacrosse Ministry presents the 2015 Peter Kohn Award to Aimee Dixon, associate director for Fields of Growth International (Team Uganda), a lacrosse volunteer corps aiming to harness the passion of the lacrosse community through global leadership development, service and growing the game.

Each year, the Peter Kohn Award, established in 1998, is given to a member of the lacrosse community who best represents John 15:13: “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends,” and exemplifies the Christian principles of Character, Integrity, Excellence and Teamwork on and off the lacrosse field.

Upon learning of the award, Dixon said, “I am truly honored and humbled to accept this year’s Peter Kohn award. I was incredibly fortunate to live among the men and women of Uganda Lacrosse and for the opportunity to orchestrate The Dream 2014 Campaign. This past summer, Team Uganda showed the world that sports have no boundaries – over 2,000 individuals united from across the globe, exemplifying their selflessness beyond service, to help transform Uganda’s dream into reality. I'd like to thank the FCA for their invaluable partnership and support, and I am truly honored to join the legacy of Peter Kohn.”

Dixon worked on Fields of Growth’s “Dream 2014” campaign that provided Africa’s first national men’s lacrosse team the opportunity to compete at the 2014 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Championship in Denver. The Uganda team became the darlings of the FIL World Championship after competing. Dixon spent six months in Uganda last year creating a development plan for the Uganda Lacrosse Union as well as a school, built and funded by the organization in the village of Kindu. Dixon graduated from the University of Louisville in 2011, earning a degree in sports administration. She was a three-year starter for the Cardinals.

The Peter Kohn Award is named for one of the most beloved and unique figures in the lacrosse world. For 50 years, Kohn was connected to the sport of lacrosse and inducted into the U.S. Lacrosse New England Hall of Fame. Kohn served as a volunteer with FCA Lacrosse from 1988 until his death in 2009.

Past Peter Kohn Award recipients:

1998 – Peter Kohn

1999 – Hank Janczyk

2000 – Buddy Beardmore

2001 – Jim Darcangelo

2002 – Susan Powell

2003 – Bob Scott

2004 – Jerry Schmidt

2005 – Richie Moran

2006 – Jim Grube

2007 – Ed Britton

2008 – Dave Urick

2009 – Richie Meade

2010 – Brad Corrigan

2011 – Dr. Frederick Douglass Opie

2012 – The Colleluori Family

2013 – The Kelly Family

2014 – Steve Stenersen


Photo courtesy of FCA Lacrosse