!Please Note!

You are using an outdated browser that may impact your experience on FCA.org.
Please upgrade to the latest version of Internet Explorer here or download another browser like Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.
Once you upgrade, this notice will no longer appear.

FCA Honors Indiana University’s Tom Allen and Coastal Carolina University’s Jamey Chadwell with 2020 Grant Teaff Award

Published on January 11, 2021

FCA recently honored Indiana University Head Football Coach Tom Allen and Coastal Carolina University Head Football Coach Jamey Chadwell with the 2020 Grant Teaff Coach of the Year Award. 

“Fellowship of Christian Athletes has honored two outstanding coaches who have impacted countless players over their successful careers,” said FCA President and CEO Shane Williamson. “We congratulate Tom Allen and Jamey Chadwell for not only their accomplishments on the field, but also for the way they have touched the lives of countless young athletes—all for the glory of God.”

One of 22 semifinalists for the 2019 George Munger College Coach of the Year Award, Tom Allen’s 18 wins are the most for an Indiana head coach over his first three seasons. A 28-year coaching veteran, Allen was named the program’s 29th head football coach on Dec. 1, 2016. He made his head coaching debut in the 2016 Foster Farms Bowl.

The New Castle, Indiana native joined Indiana University’s staff as associate head coach/defense at the start of 2016, and he promptly went on to become a Broyles Award nominee. Allen has strong ties to the Hoosier state as he served as head coach at Ben Davis High School (2004-06), defensive coordinator at Ben Davis (1998-03) and Marion High School (1997) and earned his master’s degree from Indiana (2002).

Over the past 25 seasons, the teams for which Allen has been a member of the coaching staff have posted a combined record of 240-88 (.732).

Jamey Chadwell, a two-time FCS National Coach of the Year finalist and three-time Big South Coach of the Year, became the third head coach in Coastal Carolina football history on January 18, 2019. He finished fourth in the FCS National Coach of the Year voting in 2015 and eighth in 2013 and on the field led CSU to two conference titles, as well as the NCAA Division I FCS Championship Playoffs twice. 

On the field, Chadwell has won over 65 games in 10 years as a head coach at Charleston Southern (2013-16), Delta State (2012), North Greenville (2009-10) and at Coastal Carolina (2017 and 2019). A 2018 Broyles Award nominee, an award given to college football’s top assistant coaches, Chadwell was the associate head coach, offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach for the Chanticleers in 2017-18.

In his first year as the full-time head coach in 2019, the Chanticleers went 5-7 overall and highlighted the season with a 12-7 win on the road at Kansas, the program's first-ever win over a Power 5 opponent on the gridiron.

Named after Grant Teaff, former Baylor University coach, AFCA executive director and Trustee Emeritus of the FCABoard of Trustees, the Coach of the Year Award presented by FCA recognizes a football coach who exemplifies Christian principles and who is involved in FCA. The award is also based on the success and performance of the coach’s team that season. Previous winners include Blake Anderson (2019), Matt Campbell (2018), Scott Frost (2017), John Stiegelmeier (2016), Larry Fedora (2015), Dabo Swinney (2014), Tommy Bowden, Tommy Tuberville and Jerry Kill.